Keely Naden: Post No. 4

cosmo

I chose this issue of Cosmopolitan because the bright colors grabbed my attention as I was scanning the whole rack of magazines. The yellow background really stands out, along with the bright pink words. Also, the fact that Kim Kardashian is awkwardly sitting. I think Cosmopolitan is a newsstand magazine because of all of the side headlines. They have to use more headlines to grab your attention. Subscription based magazines would probably not have as many. The headline that draws the most attention is “The Sex Move” because of the bright orange and all upper case. Cosmo has monthly issues and costs $3.99. The date on this magazine is April 2013.

Nikki McDonald: Post No. 4

IMG_2713

 

I chose women’s health magazine because of the bold red and blue on the cover and the highlighted words looked important. I believe it is a newsstand based magazine because it has a lot of cover lines and bold numbers that grab the eyes attention more. “The 8 hour diet” cover line appealed to me most because it is big and bold. It is a monthly magazine. This issue is February 2013 and it cost $4.99.

Image

Hattie Wheeler: Post No. 4

Hattie Wheeler: Post No. 4

I chose this magazine because I was attracted to the bright green color of Gwyneth’s dress. I think this sales base is newsstand because of the headlines bordering the page are attention grabbing to people walking by and the headlines are competitive with similar health magazine. Self is a monthly magazine that is $3.99. This is the April 2013 issue. I was attracted to the big blue dot that ties in with the blue on her dress and says 13 ways to eat healthier.

Angela Hensley Blog Post #4

I chose the magazine "Garden and Gun" because the cover is black and the title is in red.  The magazine costs $5.95. The way that the cover model's hair is in her face so that you can only see one eye makes you feel like she knows something that you don't and that you have to open the magazine and figure out what it is. So I definitely think that the red typeface used for the title and the expression on the cover model's face are what drew me in.

I chose the magazine “Garden and Gun” because the cover is black and the title is in red. The magazine costs $5.95. The way that the cover model’s hair is in her face so that you can only see one eye makes you feel like she knows something that you don’t and that you have to open the magazine and figure out what it is. So I definitely think that the red typeface used for the title and the expression on the cover model’s face are what drew me in.

Elizabeth Burgreen: Post No. 4

Photo on 2013-03-27 at 21.45I really liked the contrast with the yellow, blue and pink colors that stand out on the front page of the magazine. This is a weekly newsstand magazine because it is based on week to week celebrity news that happens. The coverline that got my attention was “Rob moved back in with Kristen.” The date is March 6 and it costs $4.49.

Miller Hollingsworth: Post No. 4

IMG_3778

 

This magazine caught my attention because of the strong red color choice. This magazine used many different graphics to draw your attention to it, and it stood out in comparison to the other magazines because it chose to use a bright red color scheme on the cover. It is not a color you would traditionally think of for a magazine cover, so Lucky differentiates itself from the competition around it in this way. I was also immediately drawn to the magazine because I love Julie Bowen. This magazine is clearly newsstand based because it is absolutely crowded with coverlines. From using all the numbers to claiming “Free Stuff!!” at the top, this magazine is clearly trying to make you buy it when you pass the newsstand. The coverline that was the best at making me open the magazine is “Bags! Bags! Bags!” I was immediately drawn to it because of the use of many colors and the downward construction of it. Lucky is a monthly magazine. The date on the magazine is April 2013. The price of this magazine is $3.99.

IMG_3778

 

This magazine caught my attention because of the strong red color choice. This magazine used many different graphics to draw your attention to it, and it stood out in comparison to the other magazines because it chose to use a bright red color scheme on the cover. It is not a color you would traditionally think of for a magazine cover, so Lucky differentiates itself from the competition around it in this way. I was also immediately drawn to the magazine because I love Julie Bowen. This magazine is clearly newsstand based because it is absolutely crowded with coverlines. From using all the numbers to claiming “Free Stuff!!” at the top, this magazine is clearly trying to make you buy it when you pass the newsstand. The coverline that was the best at making me open the magazine is “Bags! Bags! Bags!” I was immediately drawn to it because of the use of many colors and the downward construction of it. Lucky is a monthly magazine. The date on the magazine is April 2013. The price of this magazine is $3.99.

 

 

Matthew Zelenik Post #4

10016_4667947142871_1731448757_n

 

I chose Esquire for multiple reasons.  The main reason it caught my eye was because of the color scheme.  Yes the steel colored blue/green is not vibrant but it matches Robert Redford’s eyes and that really stood out to me.  Also Redford’s looks very intriguing and makes me want to read the article about him.  My eyes kept wondering back to Esquire after examining the rest of the magazines.  I would say Esquire is based on subscriptions because the headlines are small and can barely be seen at a distance.  The date of the magazine is April 2013 and it sells for $4.99

photo (16)

 

I liked this magazine cover, because I find it interesting how they catch the batter and he goes through his swing. I believe this is more of a subscription based magazine, because there are only four coverlines. The coverline that was most interesting to me was the “$365M battle for LA”. The date is April 1, 2013. The price is $5.99

Anne Gammill: Post No. 4

Image

The Glamour Magazine caught my eye when i was looking at magazines because of the lime green.  It was the only cover on the shelf that had this color.  I thought that this cover was very appealing and was different than all of the other magazines, because a lot of them used the color yellow.  This is a newsstand and subscription magazine, and it was $3.99.  This magazine is a monthly magazine and this is the April issue.